The Morrisons apps

Why does the price of a product change when I put it in my basket?

This can happen if the prices in your stored catalogue aren't in sync with our current product price. All prices in your basket are checked and updated when your mobile device syncs with our server. A final check is automatically carried out at checkout too, just to make sure the price displayed on the checkout page is completely accurate.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

Why can't I register my credit card using my mobile application?

For security reasons, we ask you to complete certain operations using our website rather than through the app. This may change in future releases, but for now you can only register for a new account at groceries.morrisons.com

Updated on: 11 October 2019

Do I have to go to the main website to check out an order?

You can check out an order using your Morrisons Grocery App, but for security reasons your payment details must be registered on our website first.

If you've just registered with Morrisons and you're using your mobile device to do your very first shop, you'll need to go to the website to store your payment details and checkout. Once you've completed that first shop (or if you're an existing customer with stored payment details), you can check out using the app.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

Why does the tab bar keep disappearing on the iPhone app?

We decided to hide the tab bar after receiving some useful feedback from users. They felt it was too easy to unintentionally click on the buttons in the tab bar while scrolling.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

When I'm browsing, is there a way to jump straight back to the main shopping menu?

iPhone/iPod touch users:
Click on the 'Shop' button in the tab bar to go back to the main shopping menu.

Android users:
Click on the 'Start shopping' button to reset the shopping menu. Press 'Shop' using the menu to keep it in its current position.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

Is there support for shopping in landscape view?

iPhone/iPod touch users:
While viewing a product list or basket, simply rotate your device to display a full-screen 'shelf view'.

Android users:
Just enter 'landscape mode'.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

How do I get to the shelf view in Android?

You can change to 'shelf view' by putting the zoom level on its lowest setting.

Note

There are separate zoom levels for 'basket' and 'shop'.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

Why can I only see 'back of pack' information when I'm online?

Android only:
While 'front of pack' information (like product names and prices) is downloaded as part of the catalogue when you install the app, the 'back of pack' information (like nutritional information and ingredients) is only downloaded as required when you're online. This reduces installation time and saves storage space on your mobile device.


If you'd like to change this setting, follow these three simple steps:

  1. Press the 'cog' icon on the homepage to go to the settings menu.
  2. Select the 'Catalogue type' menu.
  3. Finally, select 'Complete' to synchronise the entire database, including back of pack information.

If you'd like to revert back to the original setting, you just have to go to 'Catalogue type' and select 'Front of pack only'.

Note

Choosing to include all 'back of pack' information will double the amount of data being synchronised. For that reason, we only recommended it for faster handsets.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

How do I access detailed product information?

When you're looking at a list of products, clicking on a product image will take you through to the detailed product information.

iPhone/iPod touch users:
In basket view, you can also click on the '>' button in the callout.

Android users:
You can press and hold the 'show details' link for a few seconds to view more information.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

Will secure information about my account be held on my mobile device?

Definitely not. We never store any secure information like your password or PIN in the mobile app. That's why we always ask you for this information when you're booking a delivery slot or checking out an order.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

There are no 'login' or 'logout' buttons. Isn't that a security risk?

No, don't worry. By removing the need to log in or log out, we've made it easier for you to go in and out of the application. Because of this, we always ask you to enter your password or PIN before you perform any secure operation, such as booking a delivery slot or checking out.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

Why don't the images appear immediately when I view a list of products?

To reduce installation time and save storage space on your mobile device, product images are not downloaded as part of the catalogue when you first install the app. Instead, they're only downloaded if and when they're required. So, when you view a list of products for the first time, the app will automatically download the images for those products. The images are then stored locally on your mobile device for future use.

Note

Your mobile device will need to be connected to the internet to download new images.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

The application seems to sync the catalogue in the background quite a lot. Why does this happen, and can I turn it off?

When you initially install the app, the catalogue you download is stored offline. Because of that, when you're using the app the server will occasionally perform quick background checks to make sure product information and prices are kept up to date. You'll see the notification while the quick check is happening, but it won't necessarily be a large data transfer.

If you are on a limited data plan and are worried about data usage, consider changing your settings so the app only ever syncs using wifi. To do this, you must go to your settings (click the cog mark on the homepage), and select the 'Catalogue download preference' link. You'll then be able to set it to 'Wireless only'. Don't worry - this won't stop you from using the app on mobile networks for general shopping.

Alternatively if you are happy that the app syncs over mobile networks, but want to manage when it happens, you can do that too. Once you've finished shopping, go to 'Settings' and select 'Close application'. [HR13]This will shut down the application, including the catalogue sync service, so that nothing's running in the background when you don't want it to. Then, next time you start up the application it will start a catalogue sync again, getting you back up to date as quickly as possible.

Updated on: 11 October 2019

Who can I contact if I'm having problems with the apps, or if I have any suggestions for it?

You can call our Customer Service team on 0345 322 0000, we'll be happy to help.

Updated on: 11 October 2019